Chicken Pot Pies

I have been going back and re-doing some of the recipes I posted a while back. Partly because it’s always good to check that your recipes are readable. And second because I have favorites that I can’t resist!

Last night, Joe and I teamed up to make Chicken Pot Pies. You can find the original recipe we developed for turkey leftovers in an earlier post: “Thanksgiving: The leftovers.” We just substituted the turkey with all of the meat from a rotisserie chicken and used 2x 9″ pie pans instead of my Mom’s cute little casserole dishes.

This also gave me the opportunity to use another Christmas present from my parents: my pie bird! Traditionally, you vent pies by slicing vents into top crust, sort of like with this berry pie. But the pie bird is so much cuter! Here is how to use your bird: First put your bottom crust down in the pie tin after spraying the tin with a non-stick spray. Put down the bird in the center of the pie. Put in your filling. Then roll out your top crust and cut a little “X” in the center. Carefully pick up the crust and put it down such that the bird is coming out through your “X” vent. Then seal all of the edges, both around the bird and the edge of the pie.

You’ll get something like this:

Chirp chirp!

The pie baked to perfection and was just as delicious as we remembered it being the first time.

Four and twenty blackbirds baked in a pie. Or, for me, one red bird!

PS – Right now is pea season! Make sure you get fresh English peas at your local grocer or farmers market instead of the frozen stuff! Much tastier πŸ™‚ See my pal Emily’s blog, Sage Recipes, for some gorgeous pics!

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pies

    • Thanks, mydearbakes! πŸ™‚ The filling is super easy to make, and it looks like “your dear” is a *fantastic* baker (jealous!), so I’m sure it’d be easy for you guys to make!

  1. Pingback: Happy Pi Day! | Heather HomeMaker

Leave a Reply

