Thanksgiving: Bread Cornucopia Center Piece

As promised!

Last Thanksgiving, Kim and I made basket cornucopias, but this year I made an edible one. Here are the supplies you’ll need.

Directions: Preheat the oven to 350°F and line a large baking sheet with parchment. Make a rectangle of foil that is about 30 x 18″ and fold it in half to make a sturdy square of foil that is 15 x 18″. Roll the foil into a cone and tuck in the edges as needed. Place the foil cone on your baking sheet, seam-side-down, and bend the tail end up to however coiled you prefer.

I used regular foil, but I think heavy duty would work even better

Tear off more pieces of foil, crumple them, and fill the cone to make the structure more sturdy.

Make sure to use a lot of foil to support the weight of the bread dough.

Once you have it set-up and shaped to your linking, spray the outside of the foil generously with the nonstick spray.

Shaping done!

I used Pillsbury French Loaf bread, which I found near the crescent rolls in the refrigerated section. I know it’s cheating, but I wasn’t sure if this was going to work at all, so I figured the less work put into it, probably the better (in case it was an epic fail). The bread dough is rolled, so I just unrolled the dough, and cut it into thick strips.

Makes for a decent shortcut.

Starting at the tail end of the foil cornucopia, I started wrapping one strip of bread dough all the way around until I reached the part of the foil that was touching the cookie sheet.

Make sure to overlap the dough a bit so it will bake solidly

For the rest of the cornucopia, I decided to not fully wrap the foil with bread because I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to get the foil out after baking without destroying the bread basket. So I just draped strips over the foil. (If you want to wrap the foil all around with the bread, make sure you buy 3 cans of bread dough.)

Don’t worry about the ends of the strips yet.

Once I had all of the foil covered, I tucked the ends of the bread dough strips under the foil.

Hold onto the structure by the foil, not the bread dough, otherwise you’ll make dents.

I had 3 strips of dough left over, so I made a little braid to decorate the end of the cornucopia.

This was actually awkward to do. I’m used to braiding my own hair, so I had to think about it pretty hard to do it on a cutting board.

But I did it!

I just laid the braid on top of the last strip of dough and tucked in its ends.

Now that everything is all assembled, just check it over to make sure you didn’t miss any spots.

Looks good!

The last step before the bread goes in the oven is to give it an egg wash. This will really kick up the shine of the bread, making it your centerpiece look even more impressive. To make the egg wash, just crack open one large egg and whisk it with about a tablespoon of water. Use a brush to brush over the entire cornucopia.

I almost forgot this step, but it was definitely a must for that shine!

That’s it! Now just bake the bread until it looks golden brown on all sides. (I lost track of how long this took, but my guess is about 30 minutes.)

Hilariously awesome.

The braid actually looks pretty cool.

After the bread has cooled, remove the foil carefully. Start with the extra foil (and watch out for interested Billy monsters).

The bottom looks coo-coo-bananas

Billy is such a good helper

To remove that outer layer, just peel the foil off very slowly. The hardest part will be pulling out the tail end, so just be delicate and patient.

Lift the edges off first before trying to pull it out of the tail end

Success!

Now fill it with your bounty! (Make sure to wash and dry fruits before you set up your plate.

You’ll need a LARGE serving dish to fit the bread and it’s bounty. Use the biggest one you have.

We filled ours with grapes, apples, pears, clementines, a pomegranate, an acorn squash, an avocado from my Dad’s tree, and whole nuts.

This made for a great centerpiece, but no one wanted to be the first to destroy the bread! But it should last for another day or two.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Thanksgiving: Bread Cornucopia Center Piece

  1. Pingback: Our Thanksgiving Table | Heather HomeMaker

Leave a Reply

