Buttermilk Scones

Well, I woke up yesterday morning with a terrible case of vertigo. I eventually forced myself out of bed and desperately wanted buttermilk biscuits in case it was an issue of low blood sugar. So I sifted through my recipe cards, and found a recipe. I start making them and realize half way through that apparently dizziness causes some issues with reading. Instead of pulling my biscuit recipe, I pulled my scone recipe. Whoops. Oh well. Too late. Let’s do this.

Directions:  In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, powdered buttermilk, and a pinch of salt.  In a large bowl, beat the butter until creamy. This can take 2-5 minutes depending on the speed setting on your mixer. Add the sugar and beat until fluffy; another 3 minutes. Add eggs one at a time, and beat until smooth after each addition. Add the flour and mix until just blended with a wooden spoon. Take care to check the sides of the bowl, to make sure there aren’t pockets of flour that haven’t been mixed in. Dissolve the espresso powder in the water.* Mix in the dough until just blended.

Scoop out 1/4 C of the dough  onto a parchment-lined baking sheet, placing them 1-2″ apart. This will give you about 15 scones. Refrigerate the scones on the baking sheet for at least 45 minutes.** While you wait, preheat the oven to 350°F. Bake the scones at 350°F for 15 minutes, and then reduce the temperature to 325°F and continue to bake for 13 minutes. Let the scones cool on a wire rack.

*If you want to make plain scones, just leave out the espresso powder. Or you can add any other add-ins at this point, like 1C of chocolate chips, dried cherries, etc. If you feel like going X-treme, try espresso + chocolate chips. Yum!

**You can freeze the scooped dough for up to 6 weeks. After they have hardened in the fridge, wrap them individually in wax paper, and freeze them in a large freezer bag. When you thaw them out. Remove the wax paper and leave them set-up on parchment paper line cookie sheets in your fridge! Voila! Ready to throw in the oven in the morning.


So between the stupor involved in making scones instead of biscuits, and my watching every movie version or adaptation of Pride and Prejudice that I own, I think this recipe is pretty dang good. Crispy outside, and tender inside. Despite the espresso, my stomach does feel much calmer. And I love all baked goods involving buttermilk, so I couldn’t go too wrong here!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

