Baked Chili Apples

One of my favorite treats in high school was introduced to me by my palsie, Pretty-Girl-Ana-Paula: watermelon lollipops coated in chili powder. It is a mexican candy that satisfies both the sweet tooth and my daily need for something spicy. Alas, these delicious lollipops are hard to find in the bay area (they were in my high school’s vending machine). So rather than ordering this MSG coated, spicy goodness on the internet, I decided to try to make my own variation on the treat…without the extra sugar and MSG. My solution…baked chili apples!

Directions: Preheat the oven to 350°F. Slice your apples to the desired size, making sure they are all about the same thickness. Put them in a glass baking dish. Coat the apples with the sugar and chili powder. (I used granny smith apples, so they needed a bit more sugar. If your are using a very sweet variety, you may not need to add sugar at all.)  Season with salt. Bake for 30 min, or under tender but still hold their shape. Optional: squirt some lime on top for a zestier snack.

LOVE! And I’m not going to lie…this isn’t a totally novel innovation for me…I love spicy apples. I frequently slice apples at lab and coat ’em with a nice hot sauce. But by baking the apples, you impose an entirely different texture to the apples that is crazy amazing.

So my verdict…if you don’t have the time to bake the apples, just coat them with hot sauce. But the baking adds an extra touch if you’re in the mood for something warm, comforting, and spicy!!!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

