Triple Ginger Cookies

As promised, I have the results from the different flour types in the triple ginger cookies my mom loves. In the modified version, I’m using half cake flour and half bread flour, just like in the NYT cookies.

 

Directions: Preheat oven to 350°F. Whisk flour(s), crystallized ginger, baking soda, and 1/4 t salt in a medium bowl. Beat the butter in a large bowl until light and creamy using an electric mixer. Gradually beat in the sugars and beat until creamy. Blend in egg, molasses, fresh ginger, ground ginger, cinnamon, and cloves. Add flour mixture, ~1 C at a time, and mix until just combined. Place 1/3 C sugar in a small bowl. Scoop out 1 T of dough and roll into a ball. Roll in sugar to coat and place on baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Bake for about 15 minutes, or until the surfaces crack. Cool on the baking sheet for 10 minutes, and then cool completely on a wire rack.

*What the heck is the point to using light brown sugar, dark brown sugar, and then molasses? I personally refuse to have both light and dark brown sugar in my pantry because the molasses is just added to regular sugar these days. So instead of taking up extra space in my pantry, I just add a bit of extra molasses to my light brown sugar if the recipe calls for dark brown sugar. This is what I did in both recipes (see the modified ingredients), but I wanted to include the actual original recipe for y’all.

The first observation…YUMMY!!!

The second observation…WOAH! the cookies look totally different. The all-purpose flour cookies are flattened, like a more traditional ginger cookies. The bread-cake flour cookies are plump and round. The different “look” to the cookie also translates into texture: all-purpose is more dense and chewy whereas bread-cake is fluffy and soft. Here is the pic as promised:

Flour changes everything!

I made Joe into my guinea pig, asking him to try both types of cookies out to see which he preferred. In the end, Joe said it would ultimately depend on what sort of “cookie mood” he was in. Fluffy? Or dense?

If you’re thinking of trying this recipe out, the only adjustment I’d make are in the directions – instead of adding the crystallized ginger to the flour, I think next time I will add a little hunk of ginger to the top of each cookie after rolling them in sugar. I think it will give them a little extra visual pop as well as distribute the ginger more evenly.

So both recipes are good! Just pick your texture!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

