Disney Fashion!!!!

Make it work designers!!!

Recently I went outside my normal Heather HouseMaker realm…and I crossed over to sewing! What inspired me? Unfortunately, it wasn’t Tim Gunn. Rather, it was Disney’s The Little Mermaid (obviously…)

I was watching The Little Mermaid one night (like you do), and after all of these years I finally became jealous of her amazing pink bag. What pink bag, you ask? Well, I feel silly posting this link, but I refuse to post a “fandubbed” video of anything Disney. It’s unnatural. And lame. So here is the Italian version. LOVE your purse, Arial. 🙂

So I went to Joann’s (not Mood. So sad) and bought my fabric…Then what? I don’t know how to sew! [Pause] Mommmmmyyyyyyyy!

You got it. I called my mom. And I may have called her a total of 10 times trying to figure out what I was doing. In the end, I did make a final product, and I’ve been using it without problem for the last 3 weeks or so!

First I made my pattern:

My pattern

My pattern made of several cut up pieces of construction paper

Then I cut my cotton lining and pinned it together:

Lining

That was the easy part.

Then I made a seam on the edges. And since I’m new at this, I did it all by hand. I’m sure doing this with a sewing machine would have been a cinch!

Lining

Lining complete!

Finally, I repeated that process with the outer-fabric (note the floral fabric above…it’s not Ariel pink, but it’s still pretty). Second, I sewed the lining to the outer fabric. Third, I made a strap out of the selvage. Finally, I sewed the strap onto the bag!

My purse

My Ariel purse is complete! I'm now the envy of every 3 year old.

I didn’t plan the size very methodically, but it turns out it perfectly fits all of my regular purse items (keys, wallet, pouch for cards, phone, and ipod). It also fits the book I’m currently reading.

I’m very proud of my first sewing attempt. And I hope Tim Gunn (and Ariel) would be proud!

And I lived happily ever after with my new bag.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

