Tongue Twister Cookies

Tongue twister cookies…aka Cardamom and Candied Kumquat Cookies. Try saying that 5 times fast!

I love cardamom and lemon as a flavor combo (I’ll have to post a krumkake recipe over Christmas this year), so I thought that cardamom might pair well with other citrus too! Cardamom is an up-and-coming spice in the baking world, and it is probably my favorite cookie flavor. (But again, I’m biased…I just love my Daddy’s krumkake!!) In my experience, I have only ever used green cardamom, and I always insist on using freshly ground from the pods. So you will need a mortar and pestle (and patience).

You can find my post about candying kumquats here.

Now get ready for awesomeness.

Directions: In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon salt together. In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the cardamom and vanilla.

Finally beat in the eggs, one at a time. Drain one 125 mL jar of candied kumquats and finely chop. Mix the chopped kumquats and the flour mixture into the butter/sugar mixture with a wooden spoon until just blended. The dough will be pretty sticky because of the kumquats at this point.  Cover the dough and refrigerate until firm enough to hand-form cookies (~1 hour).

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.  Remove dough from refrigerator and let it warm up until it is easily molded by hand, but not sticky. To make the cookies, use a tablespoon to scoop out the dough. Form a circular disk, with about a 1/8-inch thickness, and place cookies about 1″ apart. Bake 8 to 10 minutes, or until pale golden brown at edges. The cookies will still be very soft coming out of the oven, so let them sit on the cookie sheet for 1-2 minutes. Transfer them to a wire rack to fully cool. And then devour!!

I’m sorry I didn’t take any pictures! I was distracted…and busy eating them…

{use imagination to insert a picture here!} :D

Overall, the kumquats ended up being a mild flavor in comparison to the cardamom. They were a hit at lab! (And of course I have to give props to the kumquat fairy for donating the kumquats to my kitchen!)

Just a final note – This recipe is based off of my regular cardamom cookie recipe. The kumquats are just an addition.  If you don’t like kumquats, you can totally leave them out of the picture…I would just recommend rolling the dough out instead of making hand formed cookies. This will help them bake uniformly.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Tongue Twister Cookies

  1. Pingback: Sugar and Spice: Cardamom Cookies « Heather HomeMaker

  2. Pingback: Kumquat Mojito « Heather HomeMaker

Leave a Reply

